9 Things I Can’t Do when I Travel

Top of the Rock, New York City, USA(scroll down for the english version – voyez plus bas pour la version française)

Hace unas semanas descubrí Escapadas Blog, la página de viajes de Xavi y Joana.  Son españoles y cuentan de sus destinos favoritos en su país, así como en otros lugares que les encantaron.  Además, sacan fotos hermosísimas, para que quedemos más atraidos por la magia de cada lugar.  Bueno, hace unos días, me sorprendieron cuando me preguntaron, así como si fuera nada, las 9 cosas que no sé hacer cuando viajo.  Es otra manera de aprender de los otros y me gustó el tema…  Me tocó tiempo encontrar 9 cosas, pero ya las tengo y se las comparto.

1. No sé pernoctar en hoteles: (esa era fácil) ya saben todos cuánto me encanta encontrar a la gente local y que siempre viajo con la página de Couchsurfing.  Cada vez, encontré a gente maravillosa que me demuestra una y otra vez que es mucho mejor pasarla con ella que solito o con otros extranjeros en un hotel.

2. No sé viajar con un guía: es la consecuencia del #1. Quedándome con la gente local, ella es la fuente de información con cual viajo y descubro los alrededores; ella sabe más que todos los guías y también lugares que los guías nunca conocerán. Solo uso mapas.

3. No sé no comer en el mercado: además de ser el lugar más barato de una ciudad o de un pueblo, es el lugar más típico y en donde se encuentra todo tipo de comida que no se busca en otros lugares. Además, el entorno, los colores y los olores son el teatro de momentos geniales para sacar fotos.

4. No sé viajar sin esa carpeta chiquita en la cual guardo las fotos de todos los que amo: la preparé la primera vez que me fui de viaje largo y desde ese tiempo, la actualizo para guardar un recuerdo de todos los que no viajan conmigo y que amo de todo mi corazón.  Para que estén conmigo en cada lugar.

5. No sé no mandar postales de cada lugar a 7 personas en particular: todo empezó cuando les prometí a mis ahijados que les iba a escribir una postal desde cada lugar que iba a visitar.  No puedo romper una promesa con ellos.  Con el tiempo, se agregaron otras personas a quienes, sí o sí, mando una postal también.

6. No puedo resistir subirme a una torre si hay una: pues, de ahí arriba, siempre se tendrá una vista panorámica de los alrededores y no me la puedo perder.  Más alto, mejor. 

7. No sé quedarme tranquila en el mismo lugar más de 5 días: siempre encuentro algo que hacer, un lugar a visitar, un museo a descubrir, una caminata a caminar.  Todo es nuevo, todo lo quiero conocer… y seguir descubriendo, ¡en otro lugar!

8. No sé encontrar el tiempo de hacer yoga : aunque tenga muchas ganas de practicar, siempre se me ocurre algo «más importante» que hacer o veo como excusa el hecho de no tener espacio propio para praticar.

9. No sé desconectarme por completo de la red : la primera vez que me fui de viaje largo, ande sin celular y sin computadora. Me conectaba al internet cada 3 semanas y mandaba correos grupales. Ahora, con lo del blog, con un celular que se puede conectar desde casi cualquier lugar del planeta, ando atrapada. Sólo cuando me voy de trekking durante varios días o que estamos perdidos en medio de la nada, descubro de nuevo el placer de no estar conectada.

Debajo de las traducciones, encontrarán la lista de blogs de otros viajeros que reto ahora a pensar en su propia lista y compartir las 9 cosas que no saben hacer cuando viajan.

¿Qué tal Uds.? Algo en particular que no saben hacer cuando viajan?

[English]

A few weeks ago, I discovered Escapadas Blog, Xavi & Joana’s travel page. They’re Spanish and write about their favorite places in Spain, as well as other places they’ve travelled to. Besides, they’re super good photographers and their pictures entice us more towards those magical places. Well, they took me by surprise the other day when they wrote to ask what were the 9 things I can’t do when I travel. Think about that! It’s another way to discover more about each other and I found the theme interesting. So… It took me some time, but here is, at last, a list of things I find myself unable to do when I travel.

1. I can’t sleep in hotels: (this one was easy!). All of you already know how much I enjoy meeting the locals and travelling with the Couchsurfing page. Every time, I meet fabulous people who show me how much more interesting it is to spend time with them than alone or with other foreigners in a hotel.

2. I can’t use travel guides: it’s the direct consequence of #1. Since I stay with the locals, they are my source of information to discover my surroundings. They know more than the guides and can share things that guides will never know. I only use maps.

3. I must eat at the market: not only is it the cheapest place to eat in a city or in a village, it is also the most typical and where you’ll find every kind of food, which other places don’t have. Besides, the atmosphere, the colors, flavors and smells are the perfect scenes for spectacular pictures.

4. I can’t travel without that little box in which I keep photos of those I love: I made it to have during my first long travel and frequently update pictures of everyone who is important in my life. So I have them near me at all times.

5. I must send a postcard from every place I go to 7 people in particular: it all began when I promised my godchildren I would send them a postcard from every place I’d visit. I can’t break that kind of promise. With time, other people got on that short list and, easy or not, I send them all a postcard from everywhere I go.

6. I can’t resist climbing a tower if there’s one nearby: well, from up there, the panoramic view will always be the best and I can’t go by without enjoying it. The higher, the better.

7. I can’t stay still in the same place more than 5 days in a row: I always find something to do, some place to go to, some museum to visit, some trekking to do. Everything is new, I want to see it all… And keep discovering and seeing… somewhere else too!

8. I can’t find time to practice yoga: although I really want to, there’s always something «better to do,» or I find an excuse in the fact that I don’t have my own space to practice.

9. I can’t disconnect completely from the internet: the first time I left on a long trip, I had no cell phone and no computer ; I used to go to the cyber café once every 3 weeks and send grouped emails. Today, what with the blog I want to update regularly and a cell phone that can be connected from pretty much anywhere on earth, I’m trapped. Only when I leave for a multi-day trek or when we are lost in the middle of nowhere, do I feel again the pleasure of being away from the internet.

Below the French version, you’ll find the list of blogs by other travellers I challenge today to think upon their own list and share with us the 9 things they can’t do whey they travel.

What about you? Anything in particular you can’t do when you travel?

[Français]

Il y a quelques semaines, j’ai découvert Escapadas Blog, le site de voyages de Xavi & Joana. Ils sont Espagnols et écrivent à propos de leurs balades et lieux favoris en Espagne et ailleurs. En plus, ce sont de très bons photographes et nous emmènent ébahis par la magie de chaque endroit. Ils m’ont surprise en me sollicitant il y a quelques jours pour savoir quelles étaient les 9 choses que je ne sais pas faire quand je voyage. Question difficile! Mais une question qui permet de mieux se connaître les uns les autres, sur un sujet bien intéressant… Cela m’aura tout de même pris un peu de temps, mais voici enfin ma liste de ces choses que j’ai vraiment du mal à faire lorsque je suis sur la route.

1. Je ne sais pas dormir à l’hôtel: (elle était facile, celle-là!) Comme vous le savez tous, j’adore être hébergée chez l’habitant et ne voyage qu’avec l’aide du site de Couchsurfing. Chaque fois, je rencontre des gens fabuleux qui me prouvent toujours qu’il est bien plus intéressant de passer du temps avec eux que seul ou avec d’autres étrangers dans un hôtel.

2. Je ne sais plus utiliser les guides de voyage: c’est la conséquence directe du #1. Comme je vis avec les locaux, ils sont ma principale source d’informations sur ce qu’il y a de mieux à faire dans les lieux que je visite. Ils auront toujours de meilleurs conseils que les guides et sauront des choses que les guides ne sauront jamais. Je n’utilise que les cartes.

3. Je dois manger sur le marché: en plus d’être le lieu le moins cher où manger en ville, c’est le plus typique et on y trouve de la nourriture qu’on ne trouverait pas ailleurs. Et puis, l’ambiance, les couleurs, les saveurs et les odeurs sont autant de bonnes raisons pour de superbes photos.

4. Je ne sais pas voyager sans cette petite boîte dans laquelle je garde les photos de tous ceux que j’aime: je l’ai préparée pour mon premier grand voyage et mets à jour mes photos régulièrement pour avoir toujours près de moi tous ceux que j’aime et qui sont loin.

5. Je dois envoyer une carte postale de chaque lieu que je visite à 7 personnes en particulier: ça a commencé avec la promesse que j’ai faite à mes filleuls de leur écrire une carte de chaque endroit que j’allais visiter ; je ne peux pas rompre ce genre de promesses. Au fil du temps, d’autres personnes se sont ajoutées à cette petite liste et, même si c’est parfois difficile, je leur envoie une carte de partout où je vais.

6. Je ne peux pas résister de monter tout en haut d’une tour s’il y en a une dans le coin: la vue de là-haut sera toujours plus belle et je ne la raterai pour rien au monde. Plus c’est haut, mieux c’est.

7. Je ne sais pas rester plus de 5 jours au même endroit: je trouve toujours quelque chose à faire, un endroit où aller, un musée à visiter, une grande randonnée à faire. Tout est nouveau, tout est à découvrir. Je veux continuer de voir et de découvrir… ailleurs, aussi!

8. Je ne sais pas trouver le temps de faire du yoga: même si j’en ai très envie, je trouve toujours quelque chose de «mieux» à faire ou j’ai la bonne excuse de ne pas avoir d’espace personnel pour pouvoir pratiquer.

9. Je ne sais pas déconnecter complètement d’internet: la première fois que je suis partie en voyage, je l’ai fait sans portable et sans ordinateur ; je me connectais au cyber café toutes les 3 semaines et envoyais des mails groupés. Aujourd’hui, avec le blog et l’envie de le mettre à jour régulièrement, avec un portable qui capte presque partout sur terre, je suis prise au piège. Il n’y a que lorsque je pars randonner pendant plusieurs jours ou qu’on est perdus au milieu de nulle part que je renoue avec le plaisir de ne pas être connectée.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des blogs des autres voyageurs à qui je lance aujourd’hui le défi de réfléchir à leur propre liste et de partager avec nous les 9 choses qu’ils ne savent pas faire lorsqu’ils voyagent.

Et vous, y a-t-il quelque chose en particulier que vous ne savez pas faire en voyage?

Notes of Nomads

Everywhere Once

A Physical Perspective

Never Clip My Wings

Two Legs Good

The Gap Year Guru

The Life Bus

Happy Trails!

16 commentaires sur “9 Things I Can’t Do when I Travel

  1. Read, most unfortunately. I lack the concentration to read when I am traveling. Interesting post. I like the tower idea, I »ll look for one next time I’m on the road 🙂

    1. Reading is hard indeed when you’re on the road! but I so couldn’t go without a book that I suceed still in reading a few, even if I have to stop for a while (even if it’s just a little while!)
      Enjoy climbing the tower next time!

  2. OK, Julie,here is my brainstorm. I can’t leave home without 1) camera (small, easily hidden in pocket 2) cell phone 3) laptop. 4) I can’t eat in hotel restaurant when there is so much choice outside, 5) can’t miss a concert, especially the cheap or free ones in churches, 6) won’t use taxis when there is a metro, trams or buses 7) can’t dress up in a tie and look as if I belong in the 1950s and 8) can’t ride if I can walk there. Finally, 9) I won’t look like a tourist, if I can avoid it (you know the look, huge DSLR with even more huge lens and loud voice with ‘foreign accent’) 🙂

    1. Hey Ken, thanks for sharing your « CAN’T do » when you travel! Great to know most travellers have so much in common, after all! We love markets, we don’t like attracting to much attention with our gear, we’d rather walk and lately, we’re pretty much all connected one way or another.

      Happy Trails!
      Jul’

  3. Jul, it’s such a pleasure to take part in this challenge! As I told you before, challenges are not what I enjoy the most on the blogosphere, but this one really inspired me and made me look inside. Coming from you, it got even more interesting! 🙂 I’ve really enjoyed your answers, and here are mine so you can check it out!
    https://neverclipmywings.wordpress.com/2015/02/18/talks-9-things-i-cant-do-when-i-travel/

    Hope to keep following your adventures and exchanging travel tips!
    Cheers!

  4. Thanks for the challenge, love! Not sure if my blog is the right place to post my answers, so I hope it’s okay for me to post mine here…but, I can’t think of 9.

    I can’t travel without my backscratcher, my chapstick, my neti pot, or my aromatherapy oils. And, I can’t travel without some access to healthy food, preferably my own kitchen for when I get sick of eating out. 🙂

    1. It is the right place! 😉 thanks for telling us about you and those little things that maje uou who you are.
      I still have a question: since you need to have access to you own kitchen for healthy food, how do you do when you’re really far from home?!??

        1. Great option since you have your own kitchen there too! (if you ever want to go to Mexico, we rent through AirBnb an appartment AND/OR a beach house, kitchen included! 😉

  5. Gracias Julie por seguir el reto y por tus palabras tan amables sobre nosotros.
    Me ha encantando conocerte un poco más a través de estos nueve puntos. La manera en que viajamos, lo que hacemos y lo que no hacemos cuando viajamos, dice mucho de como somos y en tu entrada veo una persona muy sociable, inquieta, curiosa, respetuosa y amiga de sus amigos. Todo un placer haber contactado contigo
    Un fuerte abrazo

    Thanks a lot Julie for writing this challenge. Thanks also for your kind words about us.
    It was nice to know something about you through these nine aspects. The way we travel, what we do and what we don’t do when travelling say a lot about how we are and, in your post, we can see someone very sociable, active, curious, respectful and friend of his friends. It was a pleasure to have met you
    Regards

    Xavi y Joana

    1. Gracias a Uds. Xavi & Joana! Me encantó pensar en esas 9 cosas; siempre pensamos en lo que hacemos, pero lo que no hacemos también dice mucho de nosotros. Me gustó mucho leer eso de Uds. y de los otros que participaron al reto. Gracias por sus palabras de amistad. Un día, espero que nuestros caminos se cruzen…
      Un fuerte abrazo

      Thank you, Xavi & Joana! I really enjoyed thinking in those 9 things; we always think about the things we do, but the things we don’t do also say a lot about who we are. I liked reading it all about you and the others who answered your challenge. Thank you also for your kind words of friendship. I hope one day, our paths will cross.
      Best to you!

  6. Most of my travel with Steve is by car. He likes to let the trip unfold, so I can’t travel with an itinerary. I can’t know more than 24 hours in advance where I’ll be sleeping. Even in a campground, we only pay for one night at a time. His dream, though, is to take things slow and stay in one place for a week or more. So far, we’ve only camped in the same spot for 4 days. Longer exposure to wilderness brings about profound changes in how you live in the moment. I’d like to have that experience some time.

    1. Great insight, Priscilla! I completely relate to Steve, in the way that I like surprises and love to follow the unexpected or to let yourself have the opportunity to change your mind at the last minute.
      But I also understand your side, to know a bit more about what’s going to happen if you stay longer in one place; although it means changing one’s way of living and enjoying the moment.

      What if you tried next time you travel?!

Parlons-en!

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur la façon dont les données de vos commentaires sont traitées.